Food allergies and intolerance – Milk protein allergy
The moo on cows’ milk protein allergy
Cows’ milk protein allergy is an immune response by the body to the protein in the milk (also in goats’ milk) whereas a dairy intolerance is a reaction to the sugar in milk (lactose). Parents and carers of children on dairy-free diets will need to be extra vigilant and replace dairy products with other foods. They also need to look out for hidden sources of milk such as in deli meats, products with casein (a milk protein) such as in some brands of canned tuna, and pre-prepared foods, for example some chefs may use butter in food preparation.
Where can I source dairy-free calcium foods?
A brief list of calcium-containing foods includes tempeh, dried pineapple, calcium-fortified drinks such as soy, rice, almond etc. (don’t offer as drinks until 12 months; rather use in foods i.e. with cereal), ground sunflower seeds (check for any allergy), dried apricots, miso, canned fish with bones (mashed up), oatmeal, kidney beans (may be in a month or so), broccoli.
What about baking?
Luckily there are options: you can swap milk for the same of water or pure fruit juice i.e. grape or berry (or a mix of the two).
Here’s a great tip! The Jewish community has their own unique labelling system to determine if food is kosher. When looking at the label the letter ‘D’ or the word ‘dairy’ next to ‘K’ or ‘U’ (commonly placed near the product name) indicates the product contains milk protein.
Where to go for more information:
- The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network
- Anaphylaxis Australia
- Milk Allergy PDF
- Healthy Bones Website
- How much milk is OK for babies and toddlers?
This information has been provided by Leanne Cooper from Sneakys baby and child nutrition. Leanne is a qualified nutritionist and mother of two very active boys.
Loading tip submission...
Loading tips list...