Huggies Forum

print

tips so we dont go under Rss

were looking into buying our first house shortly and have approval for the loan etc but will be borrowing the depoisit from family. we could wait and save but the market is definately in the buyers court atm so we decided to take advantage, we will pau back the deposit when we build up some equity in a few years time.

were on a single income +FTB A+B as im a SAHM and student for now until the kids go to school (about 5 years max)

anytips for manageing a mortgage on a single income?
whatever your repayments are, pay a little extra even if you don't think it's much, over time it will make a big difference. also, try to have some savings in case something does happen. have an amount directly debited from your account into your savings account at the same time you get paid, that way it's like you never got paid that amount and you learn to live off the rest. even if it's $20, like the extra repayments it will build up.
We're thinking about buying soon too, its pretty stressful hey? I would say don't buy a house where the repayments are too much more than the rent you are paying - as you will need to also be forking out for rates, insurance, repairs/upgrades and whatever extra costs there are tied up with owning a home in your area.

Until you go back to work you could get a revolving mortgage, where it is kind of just like a big overdraft - easy to re-borrow against if you find yourself in the poo financially. But I guess it takes a bit of will power to reduce it when it is so easy to just keep borrowing up to your limit. But later on when you have two incomes you can make it so it has a reducing limit.
Our lender said to do the sums and make sure you can afford for the interest rate to be 1% higher that it is now.
this wont help with the managing of your money but have you heard of the first home owners grantits a one time payment of 7000 that you dont have to pay back i'm not 100% of the conditions of getting it