Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Newborn
  4. Feeding your Newborn
  5. Trouble Expressing Breast Milk

Trouble Expressing Breast Milk Rss

Does anyone have any tips on increasing my milk supply.

I have a 3 week old baby and feeding was going really well, but all of a sudden I dont seem to be able to express as much.

Please help smile

2 Under 1

Hi Zacs Mum

Congratulations on your new baby! It's so good to hear that feeding is going well for you. I'm no expert - I only have one baby (so far) - he's 8 months old and I'm still breastfeeding him. A reason you may not be able to express as much milk is that as your baby and your body get used to each other, in regard to breastfeeding, your milk supply evens out to what your baby needs. I never had the need to express as I don't have any immediate plans to go back to work, however in the early days my milk supply didn't seem very abundant - the nurses at the clinic suggested the best way to increase my supply was to feed more frequently. I would suggest contacting the Australian Breastfeeding Association, your local clinic or the lactation consultant at your hospital they should be able to help you out.

All the best!

Jasmine
hi zacs mum,

congratulations on the birth of your son, aren't they the most precious things.

i have a 5 month girl and i had problems expressing as well, i thought it was something i was doing. i rarely express but the best thing i found was to drink heaps of water, eat the right foods and express from 1 boob while i was feeding from the other, a handful i know but you get the hang of it. hope this may help. let me know how it goes.
cheers
mum1
Hello again Zacsmum,

congratulations on the birth of your baby, is it boy or girl & what did you name it?