Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
The Huggies Forum is closed for new replies and topics, you can still read older topics.
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Your Labour and Birth
  5. Caesarian - Will they let me be fully out?

Caesarian - Will they let me be fully out? Lock Rss

Hey all. this is my first time here. Im having a caesarian due to bubs being breech, do the doctors allow you to be fully knocked out?

Joanne,SA, 1st time mum to Ryan 7/11/05

I think if you really begged they would, are you worried about something?????
Most times they only put you under if it is an emergency.

Sydney,twin boys 22/10/04+girl 26/03/02

Hi Jo
I don't know if there is a reason why you need to be fully knocked out. The doctors can do this but the recovery from the drugs, would be longer before you get to see the baby. I believe they do a full anaesthetic if in emergency situations if mum can't cope.
If you are scared about the procedure, I had an emergency caeser last year, the epidural was put in while I was in labor, I think it would go better when your not having contractions, anyway it wasn't painful, you can feel things but its different. When getting fully blocked for the caeser the doctors put ice on my torso and asked if I could feel the cold to make sure the area was numb. You can feel slight tugging sensations during the surgery. It doesn't take long. And honestly there is nothing like the sound of your babies first cry.
I hope I haven't offended you with this post, you haven't given much information about why.
Goodluck with your birth.

Jeninne, WA, Bradyn 24/11/04, #2 Ryan 01/12/06