Huggies Forum

The Huggies Forum is closed for new replies and topics, you can still read older topics.

eBAY users? Lock Rss

Hi,

I am new to eBAY and just got outbid for an item by .50c because my bloody internet connection died with 2 mins left and wouldn't reconnect.

I am just wondering if it is common for people to wait until the very last minute to place a higher bid than you so that you don't have time to bid higher?
If so then thats not very fair!

I understand that you can put in a higher maximum price but I had been watching it all night and obvisely this person just waited until there was 1 min left

sad
yeah thats happened to me several times. i think its a pretty low act. i missed out on some great baby items because of some idiot that did that to me.
Hi Gizmo,
Yeah, lots of people do that! I have had to turn into one of them on something that I want, as often I have been outbid at the last minute. I have also found that sometimes you may get the item a bit cheaper that way.
I usually watch the item I have bid on - I have always placed a bid earlier, not just left it till the last minute to show interest, and then put in my maximum bid with 30 seconds to spare. That way, if someone else else does the same by only 50 cents, then I am more likely to get the item. If someone else goes higher than my maximum in the dying seconds then at least I don't con myself that another $1 wont break me! Otherwise I would end up spending more than I wanted to!!
So if I want an item that is going for $5, I will put in a bid for $10, then if I would be happy to pay $20 for it I put in that bid when there is about 45 seconds to go. I may get it for $5.50, or maybe $15, or I might miss out all together, but at least I know I haven't spent more than I said I would.
Unfortunate that it is how you have to do it, but sometimes you have to go with it.
Good luck in your future bidding, be careful, its ebay and this site that have me on the computer most the time!!!