Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Thinking of Studying Midwifery Rss

HI Ladies,
I have been wanting to study Midwifery at Uni for a few years and now that my daughter is 3 and son is nearly 1 with no more babies on the way I'm thinking that next year will be the year.
My hubby is happy to support us financially for 3 years knowing that I will have a greater earning capacity later and I wont have to work for that time.

I guess what I'm hoping you lovely ladies can tell me is what the Uni study load is really like? I will be studying externally so it's very much self determined but according to Uni SA it would be about 40 hours a week dedicated to Uni. I did 2 years Uni about 7 years ago and I dont remember EVER doing 40 hours a week on study but maybe that was coz I was slack.
My concern is that I don't want my kids to miss out on mummy time coz I'm studying and I don't really want to bite of more than I can chew and feel too stretched, nor do I want to study part time.

Any helps from mums that are/have studied with young kids would be fantastic to get a realistic view on things before I take this on.

Thanks so much ladies x

Hi
First of all it's great that you want to study, the feeling of completing an assignment and getting a good mark is one of the best feelings ever. I am not studying nursing, I am studying a Bachelor in Social Science, my best friend is studying Nursing. Midwifery is an extra year I think on top of nursing. My friend is in her first year full time and she says its alot of work she is on campus and spends roughly 8 hours or more a day, but she doesnt have kids either.
I have one DD and one on the way I choose to study part time because of DD and I also work part time too. But next year DD will be at prep, I wont be working cause I will be home with bubba, I am going to try and take on a fulltime load