Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

WASHING CLOTH NAPPIES!!! Lock Rss

Hi Im new to the cloth nappy thing and this morning received my order of peapods, thing is I know the inserts need to be washed about 5-6 times or something like that prior to using, but do i have to dry them in between washes or can i just put them back on a quick wash once machine has stopped, also do i need to use laundry detergent each time? because from what I've been looking up the inserts can take up to a day to dry, so that means about 5-6 days before i can start using them!!

jade82

I was told to soak them in the bath for a few hours, saves power with the washing machine. Then change them more often when you first ues them, but after a few times they will be fine. You don't need to use washing powder on the first wash/sock and only about half a scoop after that.

yep u can just wash them one after the other and i would only use a small amount of detergent for the first wash and none for the other washes after that once you've done the 5 or 6 washes dry them and then u can use them straight away. they will get more absorbent for the next few washes after these as well. if u really want to start using them straight away u can just do 2 washes and start usin them but u might need to change them a little more often until the 6ish was mark cause they aren't as absorbent. i have a friend that only washes once the first time and hasn't had them leaked so depends how heavy a wetter ur bubs is

Hi thanx for replying, just done the first wash so put all on line for now, will get them in later and do the other washes, so can start using tomorrow, cant wait!!!

jade82

smile Hi,