Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Baby's Health
  5. what to do for diarrhoea

what to do for diarrhoea Rss

my 9 month old last week had an upset stomach and the first doctor said he was getting a cold which I didn't beleive. 2 days later after every bottle ended up in the nappy I was worried my baby was going to dehydrate, went to another doctor for a second opinion said it was a virus that many babies have at the moment.
Poor thing was screeming from nappy rash I had tried several creams powders and vaseline, his butt was red raw!! for which I got a perscription for a cream, nearly a day later almost gone....thank god!

So to get to the point, if any other babies out there with the runs due to this virus ( please seek diagnosis from medical practitioner, I'm not a doctor ) I thought I would share with you what I did, stop giving formula or any dairy products, doctor advised me to give diluted apple juice 1 part to 3 parts water and gastrolyte I used an effervesent one where I just put the tablets into his bottle. Also a traditional method we use in our family is to boil some rice and feed baby the water used to cook the rice however I chose to dilute this also. As for solids I just gave my baby some bread or dry toast rusks and rice formula mixed only with water....2 days later he is drinking formula again...all good.

Vic, 3 y.o boy

Hi scorpion,

Glad you bub is feeling better. I was interested in the rice water. Can you explain the benefits or reason for giving bub this. Is it only for when they're sick? Just curious, as I havent heard of it before.

Pamela

Pamela, SA, mum to Lisa 23.10.03

Hi Pamela,