Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

spica cast Lock Rss

Hi im new to this n was wondering if anyone has had there baby go thro an open reduction and a spica cast ?my daughter is having one this week n im soo scared sad
My DD had hip dysplasia but she we did not need the spica cast. She was in the pavlik harness for two months. So my advice probably won't help. It can be a tough time. Just take all the advice that you get and then try a few things at home and do what works for you. What works for other people may not work for you. I do know that it is very important to keep the cast dry but at times that can be difficult.

Just try to remember that it will be tough but it will be over and fixed before you know it.

Good luck.

Hi, I haven't been thru it as a mum but have looked after quite a few kids that have had it done. How old is your wee girl?
The biggest thing the kids (young toddlers) seem to get frustrated with is not being able to move around and keeping them entertained in bed. The biggest thing the parents face is seeing their baby unhappy and stuck in one place and wanting them to just get on with being pain free and recover from it the sooner the better
Take a wee collection of new interesting toys (second hand is fine!). Download interactive books / things off you tube onto your iPad if you have one or phone that she can hold (not sure how old she is tho!?). Bubbles to blow. Books to read.