Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

DRINKINGWATER Rss

Hi to all you mums out there, this is my first time on line. My name is Cherie and I have a 6 month baby girl called Paige. Every new thing is a learning curve with little bubs and today with the hot weather in Melbourne, I am seeking advice about how to get bubby to drink water.

I have heard it is very important for bubs to drink water and I have been trying for a few months now but she just spits it out. Today I tried a little tiny bit of orange juice, but still no luck. Can any of you give me any other tips I might be able to try. I understand that cordial and other sweet drinks are no good for them, so what is a new mum suppose to do!

HELP ANYONE!
Kind Regards
Cherie

Cherie, Melbourne, 6 month baby girl 06/03.

Hi Cherie,

I have exactly the same problem with my 7mth old son. He will drink a few sips but nothing more. Today I gave him water on a spoon and that was quite successful. Not the ideal way to drink but at least he got fluids. I also freeze watered down baby juice from the supermarket (it is already watered down, but I put more water with it). He will eat the ice shavings, but after a while it gets too cold for him. Also, out of desperation yesterday I watered down tinned baby strained pears and fed him that when he wouldn't drink water. I offer him water after each solids feed and gradually he is drinking more as he gets used to it, but still not enough. Hope these ideas help.

GOOD LUCK

Danielle

Danielle, 28, Vic, 1st son born 2/6/03

Hi Cherie,
Jack was 7 or 8 months before he started to drink water properly. Before that, my health nurse told me to add 10 or 20mls to his formula. Apparantly If you breastfeed you should offer them extra feeds.
I give Jack water after every meal and in between now. But I do remember how hard it was at first.