Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Solids and General Feeding Issues
  5. Pureed to lumpy textured foods - when did your bub start?

Pureed to lumpy textured foods - when did your bub start? Lock Rss

My boy is just over 7 months and I'm trying to get him to eat the lumpier (stage 2) foods. But he gags on them still. I've been giving him toast for over 2 months now and he still doesn't eat any. Just plays with it, gags on it and spits it out. I guess I will just keep going with it and one day he will start to swallow the scary lumps. smile

What ages did your bubs make the transition, and was there a winner food that helped??

Also what amounts do your bubs eat. I only manage to get anywhere between 80 - 120g down in one sitting 3 times a day, plus 4 bottles of milk. I thought he would be eating larger portions, but am unsure if that is the right amount.

He also seems to have a sweet tooth. Will only eat yogurt if you mix fruit puree in it. And most of the vegies have to have one of the following mixed in; carrot, sweet potato or sweet corn .... otherwise he doesn't like it.

Feedback greatly appreciated.
[Edited on 27/08/2008]
[Edited on 27/08/2008]

Hello,

I started DS on lumpier foods around 7.5 months. At first he just screwed his face up, gagged and spat it out but we worked on it slowly. I found that mixing both pureed and lumpy food together got him used to it and then slowly decrease the puree. A winner was pureed sweet potato or corn with a lumpier vegie. Not sure how many grams he eats but he eats 3-4 cubes from the mumi & bubi's ice trays 2 times a day and a generous bowl of farex (plain or flavoured, sometimes with fruit) and possibly manages to eat half a slice of toast for breakfast, hard to tell as it gets everywhere. lol...

My DD started solids at 6 months and within 2 weeks I had her eating lumpier food.