Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

11 weeks old. Solids??? Lock Rss

hi,
My little girl is 11 weeks old and I have just started her on rice cereal. Last night she was still hungry after having both breasts and was crying heaps. I gave her just a little and she gobbled it right up, didnt spit it out or anything. Am I doing the wrong thing? I know that the recommended age is 4 months but if milk just isnt enough what are you supposed to do? ( I have a really good milk supply, no shortages in that department.) Thanks smile

Hi,

I would phone your Maternal and Child Health Nurse and seek her advice asap. The major reason for delaying solids until a baby is between 4-6months is because a baby's immune system isn't fully developed and as a result lifelong food allergies can be the result.

I don't mean to scare you I just think you should seek professional advice.

i'm no expert but i think its fine. ive been giving my son solids since 6 weeks and he is a very happy healthy baby. he is a big boy, born 10lbs.1oz so he eats alot. sometimes the bottle just isnt enough. as long as she is enjoying eating it and is managing with swallowing without choking on her food and her body is not reacting badly to it, i dont see anything wrong with it. dont feel so bad, you havent done the wrong thing.

hi casey7
they say giving a baby solids before six months increases the chances of weight problem later in life,i dont know how true that is .maybe a formula around dinner time might fill her up a little more,with all three of mine i tried to leave it till six months but always felt guilty them watching us eat,so a little here and there cant hurt,my 13 year old is 6'3 and doesnt have an ounce of fat on him,
chris

chris wa 1yr, 2yrs 14 yr

Hi Casey7
I started both my boys on solids at 6 weeks. My sister also had all 4 of hers on solids between 7-10wks. I spoke to my GP about it and she said that as long as theyyou dont reduce their formula/breastmilk then it is ok..