Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Solids and General Feeding Issues
  5. Baby Led Weaning - Advice for a beginner!

Baby Led Weaning - Advice for a beginner! Rss

Hi there. My six month old is a bit of a fussy eater when it comes to purees. In fact the only thing he will eat is pureed apple but not much else. So I've purchsed the Rapley Baby Led Weaning book and have decided to try it. Only thing is whenever DS tries to eat something he always gags, then projectile vomits whatever he's eaten plus most of his milk feed before hand. Has anyone else had this experience? And if so was it just a phase? So far we have tried banana, apple, meatballs, sausage (which he loved until it came back up), carrot, and potato. Does anyone have any advice? Thanks very much
Hi there smile I have been doing BLW with my DD for a couple of months now and she has only gagged twice (once was yesterday). As far as I know, if they are constantly gagging they may not be ready for it just yet. We started off with tomato and other softer fruits like watermelon, canteloupe, mango (a big hit is avocado!) DD first gagged when she was sitting on my lap eating watermelon and I think it was only because she wriggled a bit and yesterday she gagged on a bit of toast because she had shoved too much in and couldnt get it out cos it was too soggy! I also have Gill Rapleys book and found it really helpful. Anyway, to your original question, I havent experienced the constant gagging or vomiting that you're describing but my advice would be to try other softer foods and see how he goes smile