Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappies

Learn More

How to prepare formula Lock Rss

Hi there
I'm new to formula and woud like to know if it's ok to prepare the formula then put it in the fridge and then reheat it later. Also how long can a bottle of formula last in the fridge?
Thanks wink

Belinda, VIC, Baby Mia

This is what I was told.....

Yes, it's okay to prepare formula and put it in the fridge. It can last 24hours. You have to store prepared formula in the middle of the fridge right at the back. This is the coldest part of the fridge. Never on the fridge door. I bought masking tape and put the date and time on each bottle, that way you are always sure exactly how old the milk is.

Hope that helps.
Hi there
I have been formula feeding for 3 months and I use S26. I boil the kettle twice at about 2pm and then put it in a tupperware container in the fridge. It takes approx 1hr -1.5hrs to cool. I already have my bottles sterilised in Milton. I then take the container out of the fridge at about 3.30pm, fill all 5 bottles and then add the formula. The formula is a lot easier to mix in when the water is luke warm. Then i put in the middle of the fridge. I also make sure there is enough left in the tupperware container to make another formula just in case. It works out that they are all drunk within 24 hours.
Hope this helps. Let me know if you need to know anything else.
Good luck

Julie, SA, mum to Thomas born 21/11/05

Hi,

I make up all bottles at once and store in fridge once a day.

When reheating dont heat in microwave it can kill the 'good fats' in the formula which help bubs gain weight.

It is ok to do this if you are stuck or out etc but you should always heat bottles in a warmer or put bottle in a jug of water which has just been boiled to heat.

Just make up as per directions on the formula tin in sterilised bottles and teats and you are on your way!