Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Baby
  4. Breast and Bottle Feeding
  5. Baby not drinking when awake

Baby not drinking when awake Rss

Hi mummies, it's my first time posting thing up the net because this time, I am seriously helpless with my son who just turned 6 months. He is a formula fed baby as I ran out of breast milk. He was going fine as a newborn and I honestly don't know when it started to turn out this way. I'll say when he was around 2 months. He doesn't take the bottle when he is awake. First I thought it was the teat, then the temperature of the milk, then etc etc. Never ever thought if there's actually such a thing. Babiea don't take bottle when they are awake??? There was one time it took him one hour to get on my breast.

Say he is due for his nap, so I get the room ready and put him in the cot and then he will cry his lungs out, which I believe he is hungry. So I make his bottle and he WILL NOT take it, flick it, cry from it, anything you can think of. Once he's asleep, which may take 4 hours (overtired by then), that's when he starts drinking and sometimes he wakes up when I try to burp him and will stay up for another 2 hours. He doesn't cry for milk! He once went 12 hours without milk. The everyday battle... OMG! I was even spoon feeding him milk so that he can go to sleep better and he kept spitting it out. Made me doubt if it was the milk, but he's taking it still when he's half asleep. At night time is when he consumes the most. During day time, if he doesn't sleep, that means no milk.

I have just managed to put him to sleep and he is actually still sobbing with eyes closed while I am posting this. HELP please. It's draining me mentally. Will this stop?

TIA