Huggies Forum

Huggies Drs Lock Rss

I took DS to the Drs this morning as he has a cold and is having trouble breathing. He's wheezing and breathing really really fast. She checked everything out and said it's not asthma or a chest infection. He has no temp but he won't eat or drink. She even said it looks like he's in pain but can't find anything wrong with him. I have another appointment tomorrow with a different Dr so hopefully find some answers. It's just the rapid breathing that's worrying me. He's asleep now and I can hear how quick he's breathing. Anyone know what it could be or the start of something??
Im NOT a doctor, but my DS2 (was 8 weeks old) had similar symptoms and was diagnosed with Bronculitis. So it Could be something like this.

Hope they work out what is wrong!
I went to the doctor when my son was having trouble with his breathing. He told me it is the rapid breathing that is dangerous because they can only keep this up for so long and when it slows down it is because they are tired and can't keep it up. Sorry i don't want to alarm you but just wanted you to be aware of that. I think if they are breathing near 60 breaths per minute that is dangerous. Keep a close eye on him, and take him back if you are unsure.
ok so now i am worried that i have scared you and he may be fine, if so i am sorry. But maybe you should ring the parent helpline then they will be able to let you know if his breathing sounds dangerous or not.
all the best
Thanks guys,
Sorry for the late reply. We've been in hospital since yesterday afternoon sad

He was asleep on the couch and I though I would count his breaths per minute as the Dr I went to didn't. It was 75 per minute!!!! Now I'm no Dr either but I do know that is just way too high.

Took him straight to emergency and he was high priority as they were very concerned about him and couldn't believe the Dr I saw during the day just sent me home.