Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Newborn
  4. Caring for your Newborn
  5. Help, worried about 5wk old bub!!

Help, worried about 5wk old bub!! Rss

My 5 wk old DS3 does this strange little muscle spasmy thing, obviously being so new he is still very jerky in his movements but this thing he does is just different.

He sort of tenses up and clenches and his arms and legs will jerk in and out rythmically anywhere from 3 to 7-8 times. He is awake the whole time, though he may sort of grimace. Just doesn't look like it is normal to me, but I might be just paranoid.

We have a paed appt in 2 wks, and I have spoken to CYH and we got him checked by Doctor today. The Doc said it doesn't look like epilepsy (which I didn't think it was) and clinically he looked ok there - of course he didn't do it in front of the Doc. I've been looking up Dr Google - I know, I know, not good - and scaring myself a bit.

I'm a nurse and third time mum (so you'd think i'd know what I was doing lol), but he is different to my other two and I know I sound paranoid and am probably being silly - but was hoping someone else may have seen this in a baby and can tell me it's nothing!!!??? He has reflux and chucks all the time (not projectile though) and has not passed any hearing tests so far (see audiologist next week), but he does seem to be responding more and more to noise now.

Can anyone reassure me and tell me i'm just being silly lol??

Hello,

Not sure about your son but my DD use to do something simular around that age, her legs use to shake sorta thing but the rest of her body was still?? But i havent seen her do it for a long time. Hopefully it is just his reflex's and his just getting use to having lots of space to move around in, instead of your tummy!

I hope there is nothing wrong smile
Considering you're a nurse I would trust your judgement. It may be nothing, but if you're worried I would get a second or third opinion, until you're satisfied.
Hi