Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

toys for new born and up? Rss

anyone got any really good toys their youngers have enjoyed? i need some ideas...on what to get my daughter..........what shell enjoy as she grows..

karen,NSW, mummy to Caitlin Born 14 weeks early

hi there, I am a Recreation Therapist, and have a special interest in play. If you are looking at toys and games for new borns, try and get some visual stimulation (black and white for, say, first 3 months) .. try www.envisagedesign.com/ohbaby/infstim/graphics.html for examples. They're free to download. Then move into lots of coloured patterns from 3 months on ... I've just bought some material and made some cot surrounds (make sure of safety with ties and tendency for surrounds to flop down into cot). Lamps taht throw light patterns are good, an overhead mobile/cot gym, and lots of auditory stimulation - music like Vivaldi 4 seasons and nursery rhymes etc, rattles. BUT most of all, your voice singing to them and rocking them and playing with them is most important.
I hope that gives you some ideas - quite inexpensive really ... which is what you want as they grow out of stuff so quickly.

just starting

Hi there, I bought my daughter the singing stars musical playcentre/piano by Fisher Price. It is around $80 and you can get it from any toy store, target, Kmart, Big W etc. It has 3 options for different development stages. The first stage is when bub is lying down to play - it hangs over them and when they hit the stars it plays music (mostly classical pieces as this apparently stimulates development). the next stage is when they learn to sit up - it converts to a piano they can sit at. The last stage is when they can stand - it becomes a higher piano they can stand at. My daughter loves it so much - it was well worth the money we paid for it.

Rachel, 20mth girl + 1 on the way