Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Loss of myself Lock Rss

My DD is now 8 days old and I think I am struggling (or maybe it is just normal for this stage). I am feeling teary all the time and the smallest things send my crying. Before I had my daighter I was a teacher and someone who could come and go as they pleased. Now I find that I am struggling staying at home all day, watching the clock to see when she last fed and when her next one is due and trying to plan trips to the supermarket out so not caught unawares. My hubby is being good, he was due to go back to work yesterday but inly stayed a half say then got the rest of this week off as he is concerned (I am not normally teary so thing it is freaking him out a bit). Whenever my mum rings to see if I need anything, I just start crying and can't really explain how I feel. My friends who have had children say this is normal but why do I feel like such a failure??
Sorry for the long post but does any other new mums feel this way>?
Tara

Hello there,

Congratulations on the birth of your DD.

I too felt quite teary in the first few days of being a mum. It is all your hormones mucking around thats all. It is great that DH is there to help you. I wouldnt really worry as every new mum goes through it at some stage.

If you feel it may be more, i would go and see your local CHC and chat to one of the ladies there.

Being a new mum can be quite scary and it is obviously totally different to the life you had before DD but you will get used to it. It has only been 8 days hun so dont worry. Dont be scared to go for walks with DD or just out to the shops to walk around. Just try and get out at least once a day just so you dont feel trapped inside your house all day. I still feel like this somedays and my DS is 4.5 months old!

If you want to chat some more, just PM me.

Hi Tara
I am a teacher too, with a 9 week old.