Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
The Huggies Forum is closed for new replies and topics, you can still read older topics.

Birth without drugs Lock Rss

Hello,

Just wondering if anyone has had a drug free delivery??????

I am considering it but am wondering if it is a wise choice!!!

Thanks
hi there!! hen I had my son, all along i planned to have a drug free labour ... in the end, i had the gas, but that was all! I was very happy with myself that I didn't have an epidural or pethidine as I'd said from the start that I didn't want either of them!! My friend recently gave birth to a 4Kg bub ... absolutely drug free labour!!

eìí? well ... it started with a kiss eìí?-3-064

Hi boppie,

well whatever you decide, remember its your decision. As a recovery nurse I can tell you that women who have absolute plans for this and that about what they will or wont do during the labour, are usually always disappointed when things don't go to plan. And let me tell you, that babies have a whole plan of their own and sometimes they are the opposite of yours!!!! Just be aware of your options and say to yourself, that you will take it as it comes and what you can cope with. Everyone is different. And just a piece of trivia, midwives as far back as Cleopatra's time have been using traditional herbal medicines to help women cope with the pain of labour. American indians (some tribes) used to chew tobacco leaves during labour to help with the pain......I can't imagine the caffiene rush this would have given the baby!!! All the best

Angie, DE 15/12/05 ,TAS

Hi Boppie

Have you considered labouring at a birth centre? They encourage a drug-free approach. Gas and pethadine is available if required but if you need something stronger you will be transferred to the hospital.

If drugs aren't readily available, you might be less inclined to ask for them!