Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Caesarean Births
  5. Did you (or do you want to) have an elective c-section?

Did you (or do you want to) have an elective c-section? Rss

Tell us your story!
I am currently at the beginning of my second trimester in my second pregnancy. During the birth of my first LO, after a very intense and long labor, an emergency C-section was needed. There was no way on earth my 4.5kg baby was coming out the conventional route!
To cut a very long (and traumatic) story short the labor, birth and then after care at the hospital was unpleasant. I was even told by the senior doctor on the maternity ward that I was a "disappointment" as I had a general anesthetic for the C-section as I had a complete meltdown on the operating table - from the get-go with my midwife I had stated that I am not good with surgical procedures on myself and would need heavy sedation or to be knocked out should it come to an emergency C-section. These wishes were not adhered to or defended during the labor process.
This time I have a lot of apprehension for the birth. I am having an elective C-section - my husband is a very tall/large/well-built/house of a man and I have ridden horses all my life and therefore have a very strong perineum - therefore I am not prepared to risk enduring the trauma, both for me and baby, that was the first birth.
The decision for a surgical birth is not that popular. It seems that every media article and everyone I speak too is an advocate for a natural birth. I was and would be too but I honestly do not think I can physically "do it". The C-section seems as taboo as mum's who "do not want to breast feed". I think the essence is no different... Some of us CANNOT do these things.
My beautiful sister, mum of two, two natural births... She cannot breast feed. Me, birthing failure, CAN breast feed - or at least I did last time and I intend to try this time.