Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Keeping Fit & Healthy during Pregnancy
  5. Craving tuna. Is it a food i should be avoiding?????

Craving tuna. Is it a food i should be avoiding????? Lock Rss

Hi everyone

I am 7 weeks pregnant and have constant cravings for tpasted tuna sandwhiches.

Is tuna a food i need to avoid during pregnancy????

Thankyou

Amber

Hi congrats on the pregnancy!
Im not 100% sure if you should stay away from it or not but id be careful. It is very good to eat fish during pregnancy, as long as it is fresh, best cooked by you and brought fresh. But you stil have to be careful. I probably wouldnt eat canned tuna, just to be safe. But like I said im no expert, so see what others have to say as well.
Good luck, I hope it all goes well for you!!

my girl finally lets me sleeps at night, yaay

heya smile congrats on pregnancy!

I have to say my opinion is the opposite to tarra 01, i thought you could eat tuna as long as it was canned!

Im also no expert, thats just what i thought smile

Hi

The recommendation is to have it only a couple of times a week (140g a serve)

Cheers

I asked my obs this question as that is all I wanted. He said I could have tinned tuna as often as I like as there would be very little mercury in it. Typical, as soon as he said I could have as much as I wanted, I didn't want it anymore and the thought of it makes me sick.

Mary
i believe its good but no more than 3-4 times a week, due to the mercury. Goes for tuna and a few other fish like trout, salmon, shark, and some others i cant remember

I have heard that there is no problem with having canned tuna as much as you like as it would take ALOT of it to increase your mercury levels in your body. there are plenty of websites out there that tell you what is and isn't good to eat but I always recommentd asking the professional.