Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Labour and Hospital Bag Lock Rss

Hi - any tips on what to bring in my labour and hospital bags?
What do we need to bring for the baby??
I have couple of lists but they only mention a going home outfit for the baby - what about in hossy? Do we need to bring in nappy's etc? Or are they provided by the hospital?
Also - they only list jarmies/nighties for me for hospital stay - do we just stay in our jarmies - did anyone bring normal clothes for during the day?
Obviously this is my first time - so please don't think I sound dumb!
Baby:
Nightie's, stretch'n'grow's, woollen beanie, blanket, car seat and depending on where you are staying (hospital/birth care centre) some places provide nappies, wipes etc... but I would take with you what you want baby to use. (for example, cloth nappies, certain brands, etc)

You:
PJ's, clothes, slippers, toiletries, undies undies undies (heaps!), pads pads pads (heaps!) and anything else to make you feel more comfortable (for example, pillow, lollies)

I didn't stay in hospital or birth care with my youngest daughter (born last year). I was discharged 3 hours after giving birth, and even in this short 3 hours I had to change as I had "leakage" due to the heavy bloody flow you get after labour.

So be prepared for anything!!

Forgot, also for yourself, take maternity bra's and nursing pads!

I was given a list of things to bring and things the hospital supplied when I went to the ante-natal classes. If you ring the hospital that you are planning on going to they should be able to tell you if you need to bring nappies, wipes etc.

The hospital I went to supplied everything but clothes for the baby and then I took 3 pairs of day clothes (which was trackies mainly lol) and 2 sets of pjs. Mama_Wenz is right in saying take lots and lots of pads lol and the undies too.