Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Your Pregnancy
  5. Dad's visiting hours at the hospital

Dad's visiting hours at the hospital Lock Rss

Hi All! I'm really new at this so sorry if I'm in the wrong area gasp)

I am 18 weeks pregnant and have just received the booking pack from the midwives at my hospital. I have previously lived in Capital Cities and now reside in a some what modern metropolitan country town, however, the hospital does not allow for Husbands to stay over night with the new mums and bub. This does not bother me so much, as there a still a lot of hospitals with this policy, however, the dad's supposedly have 'free visiting' rights. This is except for the prescribed rest period from 1200 - 1430, which I understand, but, the dads get kicked out between 8 - 830pm each night, and visiting doesn't start again until 1030 the next morning.

This is my first baby and my husband and I are very close. I always envisaged having my bub in Sydney or Melbourne where dad had no 'caviets' placed on him regarding visits, so it is a shock to me that I can't have him there if I want or need him. I understand that I will be tired and want my rest, as will bub, but I still feel a bit sad about the whole thing. What are your experiences or opinions with this one??

Thanks girls!

Our hospital has similar times, with our 1st daughter I was moved to my room right at 11 which was the start of rest time, I wasn't even on the bed before hubby got told he had to leave! this was from a very stern midwife who over the next couple of days I clashed with a few times, and have heard around our town that she's like it with everyone! We found tho that so long as your quiet, hubby can usually stay for an extra few hrs at night, without being shipped out! all our other midwives were fantastic by the way to! I feel that hubbys/partners should be allowed to stay as long as they like - it's their child as well!