Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

12 weeks with spotting Lock Rss

Hi
I am new to this but someone suggested I ask just to see if I can get any answers.
I am 12 weeks pregnant (just) with my first child and woke up in the early hours of yesterday morning with "unusual" stomach pains and when I went to the toilet there was red and brown blood. We went straight to the hospital and the emergency room doctor checked everything and said everything seemed ok, and wasn’t really too concerned as a scan of the baby showed it was moving and had a good heartbeat. They couldn’t see any blood around baby or anything but no one could offer a solid explanation about what it could be. The doctor told me that some spotting and bleeding during pregnancy is quite common and not to worry unless it was bright red blood or there were clots in it (which I don’t think there have been) but the midwife told me that I should prepare for the worst (which upset me even more). The pain is not really cramping but more of an ache, although when I move or twist in some particular ways it gets quite sharp. The pain seems to be quite low down (rather than in the middle or under my ribs or anything). The bleeding has decreased since yesterday, but is still there and is brown (rather than red or a mixture). Now it is being called a “threatened miscarriage” and I am wondering how long it is likely to last before being normal or “safe” or if it continues until the baby is born. I am really scared and no one seems to be able to tell me what is likely to happen, if the baby will be ok, when the bleeding will stop, or anything really.
Hi,

Poor you sad it's so hard when you have bleeding during pregnancy, but so many women go on to have healthy babies. I did, I had spotting, red and brown, on and off from 6 weeks till 14 weeks, and now have a healthy 8 month old.