Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Your Pregnancy
  5. My rights when it comes to heavy lifting???

My rights when it comes to heavy lifting??? Lock Rss

I'm hoping maybe someone can help me out when it comes to my rights at work and heavy lifting. I work in the nursing industry in the community where I have to transport clients some of those do require a wheel chair. So yesterday at work I arrived and had a look at my run for the day and noticed I had to transport a large lady and I also had to take the very heavy wheelchair from work.....I struggled putting the wheel chair in my car before I was pregnant which made me even more concerned this time round since I am 24 weeks pregnant....my boss arrived and I confronted her about this matter and she didn't seem at all concerned all she said was its your job you have to do it...even after I told her I am at risk of bleeding again...I then proceeded to trying to put the very heavy wheelchair in the back of my car and of course the silly thing fell back onto me while I was lifting it.... I a,somhad to push this very heavy lady around..imhad the same issue last week strugglingmto puch a large man around in a wheelchair, there are other workers who can do the heavy lifting and i can do lighter duties but for some weird reason my boss gives me all the heavy clients and hardnruns....I am so so sore now on my lower stomach and right side...I keep getting sharp pains and I. Quite concerned. My df is furious I was forced to do this yesterday and the fact it is causing me quite a bit of pain. Is it legal for my boss to force me to lift an object that has aused me this much pain?? Thanks in advanced