Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Your Pregnancy
  5. Gestational diabetes and glucose intolerance test?

Gestational diabetes and glucose intolerance test? Lock Rss

Hi,

Has anyone had gestational diabetes? I am 31 weeks now, and last week I did a blood test that says that my glucose is a bit higher than normal. So the doctor ordered for a glucose tolerance test for next week, where i have to starve in the morning, get blood sample done, then drink a disgusting sweet drink, and get another blood sample taken. Does anyone know what's the difference between a normal glucose test and a glucose intolerance test? And also, if diagnosed with gestational diabetes, what are the implications for the baby, apart from being bigger in size? Thank you!!

hi there
at this stage i have no knowledge of what effect diabetes has on the baby or mum but the glucose intolerance test sounds similar to what i am having done this week.

i dont have to fast in the morning but i have to drink the glucose, wait one hour and then have a blood test to see what my levels are.
The GP said that if it comes back as abnormal or out of the average range, they send you for what sounds like the one you are having, where you do fast, drink a little bit more glucose than the first test and then have samples drawn.

Good luck, im sorry i cant help but i think thats the only difference between the 2.
Post deleted by administrator.
Hi There

My first blood glucose challenge came back positive and i had to also go for the fasting blood glucose tolerance test. My second test result came back as being perfectly normal. My GP explained that the first test often returns "false positives" as it can depend on the individuals diet for the previous 48 etc. The reason they perform the first test is because the second one is much more time consuming and not everyone requires this extent of testing.