Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Nappy Pants

Learn More

Toddlers with signs of Autism Lock Rss

Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone has any idea about toddlers displaying signs of Autism. I have a 2.5year old who has had me concerned with a few things he does that have me wondering if I should be concerned. I have had 7 years experience in child care and have experience with children in this area, however I sometimes feel I maybe too close to the situation to be able to evaluate him properly.

On bad days, DS2 does nothing but scream. He won't use words and he'll scream if he wants something or doesn't want something or for reasons I can't fathom. He'll throw things and intentionally hurt is 12 month old brother. He hates being around people other than family and doesn't interact with children his own age. If they come to play, he'll become extremely upset about his toys being moved and eventually stay in my room until they leave. He walks the same way when walking to the car from the front steps stepping on the exact same bricks everytime. When we come home he has to check the mailbox before we go upstairs or he has a "meltdown". He's an extremely fussy eater and still has a bottle. He was drinking milk from a normal cup, but his brother went onto a bottle at 9 months and since then DS2 refuses to drink his milk any other way. He also has an unhealthy fixation with his dummy and always has. It's the only thing that will calm him down. When he has a major meltdown, he needs to have 4 at once (obviously not in his mouth at the same time). We tend to have these days more often than not.
We then have great days were he'll use his words and ask for the things he wants and play nicely and be like a normal toddler, but these days aren't a regular thing.

There are heaps of other things aswell, but too many to list. I appreciate you taking the time to read this.
Hello there,