Learn more
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Toddler
  4. Caring for your Toddler
  5. How to cope with accidents to your child

How to cope with accidents to your child Rss

Hi everyone
just thought that I would share some of my feelings with other moms as i am finding really very hard to cope with it any more.while i am writing this I am in tears as my 22 months old girl had splet out some hot tea over her face last night.
We were in afriends house nad I was keeping an eye on her while also taking care of my 2 montsh old one but the only minutue we took our eyes off her she went to teh kichen and tried to reach a mug full of hot tea and then the only thing i remember is a loud cry which i will never forget in my life.she has got 2 nd degrree burn on =her face ,few blisters and luckily her eyes were not hurt. and even being a doctor i was scared to death about her condition but the docs who trated her said hopefully she won't have any scar and it iwll heal nicely.and her progress will be monitored by a plastic surgeon. But still i just can't forgive my self for that 1 mints ..i am still hearing her that cry and whenevr i see her i feel so guilty . i just don't know what to do..... and i know many of my friends and family are judging us as a careless , selfish parents..
just wondering is there any other parents out there who happend to be on the similar situation( i hope not many ..........)
I am so sorry to hear about your daughter.
I cant say ive been in a similar position but then DD is only 15 months old but i know what its like when she bumps her head and stuff like that.
I think what are saying, and by bringing it up at all proves that you arent careless or selfish. Accidents happen and although they can be serious it doesnt stop them being acidents.

Try hard to just focus on getting your baby better because feeling guilty is just going to make it harder for all of you.

I hope your princess is alright smile

Leanne, Eliza Jade 17/1/05