Huggies Forum

Switch to Nappy-Pants

for toilet training!

Learn more
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Toddler
  4. Toilet Training
  5. Toilet training a 12 month old - is it possible?

Toilet training a 12 month old - is it possible? Rss

Hi Everyone

I am new to the toddler section of this forum. My daughter is almost 1 year old (in 2 weeks) and I have just bought a potty as my mother and mother-in-law say that 9-12 months is a good time to introduce the potty (my husband was toilet trained by 13 months).

I can not see the harm in introducing it to her but I really don't think she is ready to start proper toilet training.

I would love to hear from mums who have successfully toilet trained early and how they went about doing it. Also - where can I buy some training pants and do they work?

The plus side of toilet training early is that I am expecting our second child early March and it would be good if my daughter was out of nappies during the day at least. Am I being too optomistic??

Thanks
Kristi

4 lovely munchkins DD 10/03, DD 03/05, DS 10/06 &

Hi Kristi,

I dont have any experience with toilet training at 12 months, as we have only just started the process with our almost 2yr old daughter. However, I have been doing allot of reading up on the subject. I think toilet training so early must have been the done thing back then as afew people I know were trained by 12months 30 or so years ago aswell. Regardless of what your mum and MIL tell you, you have to do whats right for you (as they're not the ones who have to do it).

The general advice I have foud on the net and in various books is to start training when your child shows most of the signs of readiness and not before. It is a lot easier to toilet train if your child is both physically and emotionally ready.