Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Switch to Nappy-Pants

for toilet training!

Learn more

At breakdown Point... Rss

Help! I have a 2 1/2 year old son who has never been a good sleeper. We went to a health nurse when he was 11 months old and she made some recommendations (getting rid of the dummy was #1) that we followed with some success. However, in his life he has only slept through (11pm - 5:30am) maybe 3 times. Every other night it's at least 3 or more times that he wakes...and I mean really wakes! People have given us a lot of advise...mostly I've been lead to feeling I'm mad or a control freak because there has always been some developmental reason why he'snot sleeping (teeth, 2 years, etc). I've put these other factors in perspective and recently really given controlled crying a serious go. You see, I'm a teacher who works full time in special ed, so over the last school break I invested 10 nights in managing this problem. The result? One very haggard Louise returning to work with a child who still wakes through the night! I saw a health nurse again two weeks ago because I was desperate...can feel myself going down depression track again because of ongoing sleep deprivation and after a lengthy talk, recommended sleep school in Brisbane. "Great", I thought! At this prospect I regained some energy - only to have it blown away this week with the news that we are not eligible as my son is over 2!!!! HELP!!!! Does anyone know where I can go form here, or even of private programs that I could tap into. I can't believe this outcome as we have a history of sleep problems that have been documented through community health and our GP. My sister-in-law has told me of a program in Melbourne, but I'm just not up to travelling that far. If anyone can help me out with programs around the Brisbane area, I would be grateful. I'm at breakdown point. Thanks.

Louise, Finlay (4 Feb, 02), Mackenzie (18 Jan, 06)