Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Switch to Nappy-Pants

for toilet training!

Learn more

Stop blaming the child Rss

My Hubby and I have been raising our neice (2) since she was 4 months old. She has always been a whingy baby, first because she suffered from bad reflux and because she was used to her Mother carring her around all day so she didn't cry. Then when we got her I didn't have the time to be picking her up all the time as I had a 9 month old and 2 three yr olds to tend to also, so she was left to cry alot of the times, just carried around whenever I got a chance. She soon learnt how to scream in anger from a very early age (6-7 mths) this was also observed by a Doctor and a Child Health Nurse. She has gone on to be very cruel and nasty a times and still whines ALL the time. I have taken her to Doctors but they say it is just behavioural, and habit.
My Mum and Sister have said to me I'm too hard on her and maybe I'm blaming her because I dislike her mother so much. I know I am hard on her and she does get put into the naughty corner or gets more smacks then the other kids. But my kids wake with a smile everyday and rarely whinge. They are alot quieter and easier to please. They also do as they are told without screaming 'no,I don't want to' everytime they are told to do something or asked to come join in like she does.
When I take her to Playgroup I have at least 1 Mum every week come up to me and say is it really worth the effort, as they can see how disobediant she is. I say yes as I would rather her stress me out of the rest of my life then live a horrible life with her Mother.