Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Anybody Studying? Rss

Hi everyone,

I am about to start a degree through distance ed at uni and am a bit worried about time and motivation. I studyied nursing after i left school but it has been 7 years now and i never really had to work hard for good marks, wanted to see how other people cope. Is anyone here in the same boat?
Hi biancam,

I am studying for a diploma through correspondance and due with my first any day. I also studied nursing when I left highschool but dropped out after the first year, that was about 5 years ago!

I have found motivating myself is really hard - I go through a burst where I get into it and then life seems to get in the way. When I was working I was always using that as an excuse - so when bubs comes along I am going to really have to push myself to find the time.

What are you studying? I think it's important to make a set time each day/week to sit down and work without distractions. Let me know how your going.

Ellie B

two gorgeous girls!

HI Bianca

I went back and did my Tee or Hsc if you are from over East. I did one clas contact and the other by open learning. I ended up with really good marks and plenty high enough to get into the course I wanted to do. At the time I had 3 kids 4, nearly 3 and a 6 month old when I started.
Doing the open learning subject meant that I needed to be very self motivated as you will have to be.

A few tips that worked for me was I would get up on time in the morning and work like the clappers.THen when the kids went for an afternoon sleep I would put in an hour then. I set a good night routine also for getting the kids to bed. THat way as soon as they were in bed I would go straight to my study and get stuck into it. If you set goals for yourself really helps too. Like this week I want to get that assignment done and the reasearch for the next one done etc.