Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Would you still take her??? Rss

I am so undecided as to what to do.... will try and keep this short (yeah right!!)

A month or so back DD2 got really sick, she had a cold which turned into a cough and then croup like symptons, she stopped breathing, I gave redipred and she was OK, she had previously been dagnosed with asthma but only gets it when she has a cold.

I took her to the DRs the next morning, I was booked into see our regular one but they swapped me around to make it quicker, I saw a new one, who proceeded to have a go at me for not taking her to hossy but I was following previous advice - when she has a croup attack, give redipred wait a min, if she struggling still call an ambo, if she breathes again keep her at home til morning - I told her that as she had been previously diagnosed with asthma and I have no experience with it I want help with it and an action plan made up, she refused and said I need to diagnose her first and I don't have time right now.... I said check her notes she has already been diagnosed, I need help with her, she said well it your fault you need to PROVE she has asthma and / or croup by bringing her in..........
This sent me into a bit of a blowy spin and I said so what you are saying is rather than give my child redipred and start her breathing normally you want me to fart arse aroundf with a child that can't breathe by putting her in the car and taking 5-10 mins to get to a hossy THEN wait why you are called in to the hossy ????? She said well that would give me the proof I need!!!! I said you DON'T need proof check her records, I have brought her into hossy previous times.....
She said that is not serious enough for me to make a diagnoses.....I asked how serious she needs to be.... she said kids with serious asthma and croup end up in ICU!!!