Huggies Forum

Surrogacy- Please Help! Rss

Hi, I am a Year 12 Student and I am required to survey a range of people. As a part of child Studies, I am completing an issues investigation on surrogacy. If you could please help me by completing the survey below (even if its just a couple of the questions) it would be greatly appreciated.

1. What is your understanding of surrogacy?

2. Why do you think people are using surrogacy?

3. What are the advantages of surrogacy?

4. What are the disadvantages of surrogacy?

5. If the surrogate mother decided that she wanted to keep the child, do you believe she should be allowed to? Why or why not?

6.Imagine you are a parent and you have received your child through surrogacy. What lifestyle changes will you now make to care for your baby?

7. Should surrogacy in Australia be made completely legal?
Yes? No? Unsure?
Why or why not?

8. Do you have any further opinions or comments on surrogacy?

Thanks for your time!

One woman providing another couple with a baby via IVF as they are unable to carry a baby.

They desperately want a child, but their body has failed them. So they seek to "rent a womb" (for want of a better term) to enable them to fulfill their dream of becoming parents.

It provides couples who would otherwise be childless with a chance to become parents.

The woman carrying the baby may have doubts about handing the child over at the end of the pregnancy (depending on gene circumstances too) The surrogate mothers health could be compromised. And in some cases it would put strain on relationships too. If something was to go wrong with the pregnancy, there could be some blame factors also.

5. If the surrogate mother decided that she wanted to keep the child, do you believe she should be allowed to? Why or why not?