Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

calling all teachers Rss

Please forgive my rudeness in asking....but what kind of take home money do you get for full time teaching and relief teaching?
I'm in NZ, I'm at the top of the scale. My salary is $71,000 and I clear about $1000 a week (after tax and union payment - I don't have a student loan any more). I've been looking into relief teaching and you clear about $239 a day, so just under $1200 a week - but that is assuming you get all 5 days and there is no holiday pay.
As for Australia, I don't know! I do know that my friend moved there last year and is getting paid more for doing part time than I am getting for full time.
Hi

I also live in NZ.

I am currently a relief teacher, I am relieving in Early Childhood over the Christmas break and get $24 and hour + 8% holiday pay.

As a reliever in Primary Schools I have hit the max scale salary I can get as a reliever with my qualification (BEd Teaching) which is $55621 before tax. Because you don't get paid weekends & holidays like a full time teacher, what they do is take your salary step & divide it by how many school days (190, which means I get $292.75 per day before tax, student loan, kiwi saver & union fees. As a full time teacher I would be on a higher rate, but with heaps more stress and they work out my daily rate by dividing my annual salary by 365 days, so I would get paid for everyday.