Huggies Forum

Adjusting to being a SAHM Rss

Hi Guys,
Just wondering how you coped from being a full time working mum to being a SAHM. I have been working full time for the past 6 years and I am now a SAHM till January when my maternity leave is up. I love spending time with my little man and would not change it. I have noticed that I am getting rather board at home, especially when DS is sleeping. I have cleaned the house and recleaned it LOL. My baking tins are always full and there is always something yummy for tea. It is nice to be able to pick up DD1 and DD2 from school instead of them going to after school care.
Did anyone else struggle/find it hard with the transition.

I went from working 20 years in banking into being a sahm. I had just quit my job and was going to take some time off as my migraines were blowing from the stress of the job. I then unexpectely fell pregnant with ds. So I spend 9 months just at home running my dd around. Now I have my wonderful little terror to look after.

At first it was strange being home as all I ever wanted to do when I worked was be at home. I felt for a very long time that I wasn't contributing to the family (mainly financially).

Now it has been 4 1/2yrs all up and I have definitely settled into being a sahm. I am hoping though to work from home maybe on the computer once ds starts school (that should be good for the old noggin).

You will be fine. It just takes time to adjust to any situation. I worked my dd's whole childhood and regret missing out on all of her kindy/school functions. Now I have a second chance to be a part of my childs upbringing.

I've always worked, I only took 8 months off with dd and once she was 1 I was working FT again, then 3 years on I had DS (was working almost fulltime till 37weeks) I took 7months off then went back to work PT.
Now DS is 14months and DD started school this year, I have found I'm enjoying work much less sad