Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Spelling and Grammar Rss

Please please don't make this thread into something nasty, because it is a real concern for me.
I got an email from my cousin today, who is 16. I couldn't get over the number of spelling and grammar mistakes she had made! I have noticed over the past few years, that the importance of spelling and grammar has diminished a lot. When I was at school (I graduated in 1999), if you had spelling mistakes or grammatical errors in your assignments etc, you got marked down for it. My cousin is a very smart girl, and gets really good grades, so I can't understand how her writing can be so bad! Is it that schools don't really care about it anymore, as long as the subject is learnt? I'm not trying to discriminate against generation Y, why it seems that there isn't as much emphasis on the subject as I would have thought. I have even had emails and letters from lawyers and real estate agents in the past few months (selling property) that have had errors in them. It really gets my goat sometimes.
This isn't intended on offending anyone, and I realise that there have been some really nasty threads in the past year about spelling and stuff in posts, and this isn't about that. I really do want to hear from others about what they think.
Thanks guys.

I am wondering how old the teachers are? And perhaps they never really learnt to spell either. Thinking about it, a lot of people younger than me (I'm not THAT old either), have shocking spelling and grammar, and the teachers are 23-24 ish (not even), so maybe they were in the generation that started to let it slip, so therefore don't even know they're completely ballsing it up!